Putting our Veterans First

by Dr. Chad Audi

This month is set aside to remember our nation’s veterans and salute them for the major sacrifices they have made for our freedom. Yet, too many of our veterans find it difficult to adjust to civilian life when they return home from military service.

They need help coping with issues such as substance abuse, alcoholism, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), unemployment, homelessness, and crime. The most recent national statistics show that as many as one in ten inmates have served in the military. And, the Department of Veterans Affairs says about 20% of veterans who served in Iraq and Afghanistan suffer from PTSD.

We just received good news here at Detroit Rescue Mission Ministries (DRMM) in our efforts to help our military heroes. DTE Energy Foundation announced a $25,000 grant to support our programs for veterans and teen moms. We house veterans at one of our facilities and assist them in getting permanent housing and acquiring marketable job skills. We also provide medical care, addiction treatment, and counseling to help veterans achieve sobriety and recover emotionally from the disturbing sights and sounds of war.

Our veterans need help returning stability to their lives.
They didn’t turn their backs on us when it came to fighting for our rights and wellbeing. Now, we must not turn our backs on them.

It’s the least we can do for our nation’s heroes.

Dr. Chad Audi

1 Comment

Filed under General

One response to “Putting our Veterans First

  1. saving airzonayouth

    623-764-9902 phoenix, AZ am a home less vet just want some help don’t care how the help is coming to me as long as its from god GOD 602-363-0717 sleepisfree@live.com

    hi the place am staying at well the dudes mom die the other day and well he rents the place out by the rooms long story short I have to be out of there by Tuesday and well I have two med size boxes I would like to keep at your house in tell the 29th of Jan 2015 I would ask if you could take my dog arrow but I don’t what to give my dog up or leave my dog just with anyone so if you could hold my stuff the two boxes for like 20 days that would help out a lot well were am I going to stay I don’t know for too weeks not sure but easier if I didn’t have to push a food cart around with my dog well like chain my dog up to the cart with my stuff and have the dog waiting for me outside some office building of even to court on the 22nd of Jan 2015 that going to suck tell we call the dog pound and take my dog and maybe fine me to and maybe give my dog to someone else or even kill my dog who knows im not sure so it a lot easy to travel around on the streets for two weeks without a cart and if there any way you could point me in the route of a lot or yard or field or some thing were me and arrow could be safe it would be great in tell then my plans are to set in from of some 5 star hotel or place like that with my dog maybe someone will feel sorry or even put us in there back yard or even in there parking spot would be nice my food stamps quit some time around oct10,2014 and the last few weeks I have been fighting for food for me and arrow just checking every thing out like I put in for jobs internships and even free work at every place but not the right one yet just more star behind the place more likely ill be there looking sad and hungry in hope someone will stop to notice me and MY DOG ARROW IN HOPE 2015 THAT DERRICK HATHAWAY AND DOGGY ARROW WILL NOT HAVE FIGHT FOR A PLACE TO SLEEP OR EAT
    I PRAY LORD GOD MY FRATHER SON OF MY LIFE SHINE ON ME THIS YEAR PLEASE I SICK OF ALL THIS BEING THANKFULL WELL CANT BE THANKFULL FOR HAVE TO FIGHT FOR A 2 BY 8 LESS THEN A PARKING SPACE NOT EVEN SURE WHO ELES THINK THAT WHAT IS MINE IS THERE WELL THERE WRONG IF IT WORTH KEEPING THEN ITS WORTH FIGHTING FOR LORD GOD MAKE THE HARD TIME GO AWAY JUST FOR A DAY

Leave a Reply

